First Review!

So my first few reviews will be my favorite albums and I’ll work my way into stuff that’s requested or things that I want to review!

Review 1- Fatter than Albert: The Last Minute

FTA took my baby away!

As my first review, this one will most likely set the precedents to all the other ones that will follow or maybe it will be the horrible failure that I eventually delete because of my shame. And don’t feel like I’m only going to review ska albums because that’s not all that I listen to. And yes I do like this band. A lot.

When I first downloaded The Last Minute off Communityrecords.org, (please go it’s a wonderful place) I sort of expected something along the lines of Erin’s Runaway Imagination. Great third wave ska with a hint of hardcore and jazz. I was really surprised when I heard a more progressive sounding ska with rambling chord progressions that lead into a verse (I’m talking to you 27’s) and a lot of instrumental odysseys. (fourth wave?) The first listen through the 30 minute album warranted a lot of skepticism, but now I’m sold. This album is the concept album that ska needs right now and it brings a lot to the table.
There is no doubt that FTA is writing some very complex and progressive music. They are mixing old school ska and punk with almost jazzy progressions to make a sort of new genre within ska. The two vocals work very well together. Though at the end of 27’s Part 1 the back ups are a little off, but that can be forgiven due to the odyssey the band just took us on. My only complaint is with Panda King. For one, I really think the original part at the beginning should come back in the end instead of the I-V progression that closes the song. Also a friend pointed out that the sax at the beginning is flat and it kind of ruined the recording for me. But if it wasn’t pointed out to me I wouldn’t have noticed. Also it’s a really freaking amazing song.
In short, I love what FTA is doing for ska with this album and for those of you who wish ska wouldn’t change, there will always be Keasbey Nights and The Toasters

~Jeff

One Response to “First Review!”

  1. Yes, a commendable first review. I will have to listen for the flat sax now.

Leave a Reply

