Review: Honest Living

Matt Wixson- Honest Living

Learn how to deal!

Matt recently released “Honest Living” for free on Open Hand Records. Enjoy the review!

I’m going to cut to the chase and say what I hear in this album. This is a well written album, with little bullshit, and if there is any, it’s sprinkled with cheeky, ironic humor. It’s tired, depressed and it’s mature. It took a little bit for it to grow on me, but now I like it. I hate to compare it to “Keasby Nights” (not Catch-22) but it doesn’t have the same punch as songs like “Uranus” or “I’m Not Crazy”, or even the more recent song (and my favorite) “Double Agent”. Despite the lack of energy there is more, and better, instrumentation, the lyrics are top notch as usual, with touches of humor thrown in. The maturity makes up for the lack of energy.

Subject matter ranges from the very personal (“Wherever I End Up”), to the political (“I Ain’t Marching Anymore”), and just plain funny (“Norris/Hannity ’09”). My favorite songs on the album are “The Two Commandments”, and “Noble Masses”. “Noble Masses” accurately sums up the political climate in the US right now, and I don’t think it could be put any better: “Don’t want to hear solutions, just the sound of our own voices”.

When all is said and done, the one-man-band produced a pretty good folk-punk album. Plenty of ska, and even a dub remix is included. So if you think it’s boring the first listen, do something else and listen to it again. It’ll grow.

~Jeff

One Response to “Review: Honest Living”

  1. […] You can read it here: [hearingaidmusic.wordpress.com] […]

Leave a Reply

