…and now for something COMPLETLEY different.

Hi I’m Sebastian, fellow reviewer for Hearing Aid. I’ve been around for a little while but this is my first post. I am going to be focusing more on the Metal and Hardcore side of things here at the Hearing Aid. Not that I don’t share the same appreciation for ska and punk as Jeff and Dean.

Now lets get rolling shall we!

Album: Lullabies for the Dormant Mind

Artist: The Agonist

aaaagh...

Overall, this album is a vast improvement over The Agonist’s previous release, “Once Only Imagined”. Vocalist Alissa White-Gluz shows tremedous improvement in her voice, both in style and range. A huge surprise came in the form of her performance of “Swan Lake Op. 20 Act #2 -Tchaikovsky” done A Capella. No really. She recorded all the parts and the result is something so beautiful, that it redefined for me what you could do on an album. As before, Chris Adolph and Danny Marino’s guitar playing is quick, precise, and technical. Fitting well along with the almost theatrical quality of the album. All the songs and atmosphere take you to a big dark opera. Alissa switches seamlessly between a huge powerful operatic voice and growls that can make the best say “That’s a girl?” This is one of my favorite albums this year, and would recommended this to any fan of music. The only thing I don’t like is one of their guitars. I think it looks funny.

One Response to “…and now for something COMPLETLEY different.”

  1. I love this album, it surpasses their first one, Once Only Imagined, by leaps and bounds. The Agonist rates high on my list of great metal/hardcore bands with female fronts.

    – Jeremy

Leave a Reply

